Up-Comming

24Jan10

Don’t worry I’m still here, just been struggling to find time to write up blogs, I’ve a couple in the works at the moment, namely a post on ntfs-3g, and one I’ve been promising to do for a while, using jesred to redirect packages moving through squid to be processed by apt-cacher. But that’s gonna be a painful post, so don’t hold your breath ;)

In other news, I’ve discovered that I love EBay, after buying some parts for System86, namely a new CPU, cooler, and a fan.

Sure, a 2.8Ghz Pentium IV aint a new chip, and by today;s standards is quite underpowered, but its a big improvement on the 2.4Ghz Celeron (128/400), and is the second most powerful processor that that motherboard can take, using the maximum L2 cache and FSB. I was holding out for the 3.06 PIV with HyperThreading, and found one for only a tenner more, but could not for the life of me find something suitable to cool the thing that wouldn’t cost Jupiter to ship :( Then again, the 2.8Ghz is a huge improvement, seeing as I’m gonna OC the thing too ;) The Celeron would go to around 3.2Ghz before something, exactly what I don’t know, gave way. We’ll see what we can do with this new chip :)

To cool it, I got a new cheap heatsink, again on EBay. It doesn’t look like much, and probably ain’t but it’ll hopefully be better than the stock Intel 478 cooler its using at the moment, which is, not too bad, but nothing to write home about. Nowhere near as good as the stock cooler that came on my 3Ghz PIV (LGS775). The thing is huge, with a billion fins, big fan and copper heat pipes. Keeps my hungry and hot Pentium cool too, when clean and with a bit of tweaking of PWM values, idles 28C-2500Rpm and at full load stays steady at 35C-3000Rpm. Moves a lot of air, which needs to be cleaned often. But I digress :)

The last thing purchased was a simple, ten a penny case fan. Should help things stay a bit cooler, as will the Artic Silver 5 that I’m using on the heatsink :)

Anyways, das ist alles fur heute :) Good Night world :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

