Cyrix

28Feb10

Wow, here’s a post I complete forgot about. Sorry :( Just totally slipped my mind.

I mentioned almost two months ago about building a new computer from scraps for a friend of the family. Well, that computer arrived, the new one was built, and that was it.

What, you want details? Fine… ;)

The computer that arrived to me was the oldest I’ve ever encountered. Its a Packard Bell, but has somewhat less power than it’s donated brother. Ok, a lot less power. :) It has a Cyrix MII-200GP Socket7 CPU, running at, as far as I can tell, 225Mhz. It had a 3.1Gb WD harddrive, and a whopping 28Mb of RAM, in two 14Mb SIMMs.

So it was old. Quite old. I ripped it apart, checking for mountings, seeing where I could place a more powerful motherboard, bigger harddrive and so on. It didn’t even occur to me that it might still work. So, a while later, I hooked everything back up. And gasped.

It booted! A very Frankenstein kind of moment it was, “It’s Alive!” ;) It booted into Windows 98, with 28Mb of RAM. It was amazing :) To see something that old, working perfectly. Just so you don’t think I’m lying;Putting aside my suprise, I began assembling parts for the compartivaly overpowered machine that would be fitted inside it’s case. It turned out to be a 700Mhz Celeron, with 128Mb of PC-100 and a 6Gb harddrive, all running W2kPro. I know, obsolete 5 years ago, but for the clients needs, it’s plenty, practically overkill. Here’s a shot of the final build, with some neat cable management if I do say so myself :)

And what of the ancient Cyrix? Well, that’s sticking around. I just couldn’t throw away something so…vintage :) Turns out the CPU is considered rare enough, and a high quality working sample is hard enough to come by. At one time they were considered amazing, the CPU of the first sub-1K$ multimedia PC. So I’ll be hanging onto this for quite some time yet :) Here’s a close up of that CPU.

2 Responses to “Cyrix”

  1. 1 benj1

    “whopping 28Mb of RAM, in two 16Mb SIMMs”

    2 x 16 = ?

    I believe I had a very similar rig, same processor 32mb ram running windows 95, will have to dig it out see if it still works, although I have an old BBC B out at the mo so will have to wait :)



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

