ArchBang: Initial Thoughts

02Mar10

Whilst browsing the UF Cafe, I stumbled across this thread, requesting testers of an RC of a distro (or really, spinoff) known as ArchBang. Seeing how familiar I am with Crunchbang, the name grabbed my attention imediately.

ArchBang is basically an Arch Live CD, with an Openbox desktop. The latest version is ArchBang 2.00 RC, and the project page can be found here. I had wanted to get into Arch for quite a while, and this seemed like the perfect way to cut my teeth.

I downloaded the ISO, and gave it a shot first in a VM. I liked it from the get go. :) The appearance is quite snazzy, and even better after a few changes to the menu.xml.

It’s quick, and light on RAM. It screamed in the VM :) It’s also got a sparse collection of programs, but has everything you need to begin with at least.

This version includes an installer, and of course, I had to give that a shot. I do so on my Crunchbang desktop. I first ran into difficulty getting X to start up. This was due to the fact that I had two video cards (integrated and PCI), and it set them up for a dual monitor environment, without the correct drivers for the Nvidia Geforce4 MX440 card, as far as I can tell. I tried changing the xorg.conf, but not really knowing what I was doing, simply got dumped into TWM. All this was not the fault of ArchBang though, more mine really. After removing the card, and switching to integrated graphics, it started up fine, and, I began the installer.

It’s the same Arch installer, nothing overly complex. I did however, manage to format the /home partition of my #! install to 15Gb of swap space, but that was my mistake for mixing up drive letters. Pay attention children! ;) After that, the installer ran fine.

This was as far as I got though, because I then discovered that #!’s /home partition was now 15Gbs of swap ;) So, I reformatted the drive, and began to install Xubuntu 9.10, which is now updating. Tomorrow, I re-install ArchBang, and give it a good shot. I’m planning to create an Openbox desktop on Xubuntu, I just didn’t want to do a minimal install and attempt to get my wireless working. I just don’t have the time :)

Wow, that was quite wordy…Sorry :(

4 Responses to “ArchBang: Initial Thoughts”

  1. 1 pdg86

    Nice to hear you liked it. :)

    • 2 evidex

      I love it :) Just wish I could work out how to get my rt2501usb card working :(

  2. 3 human mathematics

    I’m really enjoying Archbang as well. I just took a look at Crunchbang and that looks equally nice. I guess it is LXDE or Openbox that is making this so awesome. Probably if I would have been pushed to install those on Ubuntu it would have screamed as well.

    • 4 evidex

      I must have a look at Archbang again actually. Thanks for reminding me!



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

