Bye Bye Gnome

30Mar10

Ya, that’s right. For the first time, I’m seriously contemplating ditching Gnome on System64. Why? For the extremely shallow reason that I just can’t make it look good! Whatever I do, it just seems wrong. :(

It’s so difficult to find a setup on Gnome that I like, but so easy to get one on Openbox, it just kinda happens. Then again, much of it happens thanks to the great wallpapers that Gutterslob keeps pumping out.

Also, Openbox seems neater. My screen seems bigger, icons are a little smaller, I can just breath easier. Without losing functionality. I do need to add all of my programs to my menu.xml, which is gonna take a while, but I don’t mind that. :)

So, for now at least, Openbox is the way forward :)

One Response to “Bye Bye Gnome”

  1. 1 powermitedev

    I switched from gnome to OB about a month ago and I couldn’t be happier. It’s so much “cleaner” than gnome or KDE.



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

