Server Videos

10Apr10

Today, after returning from a few days up the country, it was time to give the main server what I call a “Soft Service”. Basically, cleaning some of the dust out of it, without shutting it down.

This means temporarily stopping the CPU fan, which I know I can do for a certain amount of time. I’m familiar enough with the system not to damage it :)

Whilst I was doing that, I made  a couple of videos, showing the two servers, Main and Testing. And yes, the main server is lifted off the floor with four DVD cases, but it’s really helped lessen the amount of dust the thing sucks in. That said, when the air gets hot in there, it stays hot for quite a while. Motherboard temps stay around 35C, whilst CPU idles at ~37c. The harddrive stays slightly cooler at ~33C. The highest temps it’s got to have had the CPU ~52C, with the HDD up at 43C. This was caused by an RSync of 70Gb of data, all of which the server had to compress because I forgot an option >.>

Anyway, enjoy, and let me know what you think of the videos.

One Response to “Server Videos”

  1. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in
    Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

