Repairing

21Apr10

Over the summer, I dropped a laptop. Well, really, it just slide off my lap, and before I knew it, smacked the floor.

In it’s side was a USB drive, and Murphy’s Law dictates that it would have to fall on it. The flash drive seemed to absorb the shock, and the laptop was fine. The flash drive however, ended up like this;

I should mention, that even in this state, the flash drive worked fully, a tribute to the reliability of SanDisk’s products. However, I couldn’t continue using it like that, and I’d been looking for an excuse to buy a bigger drive anyway. I actually bought the exact same drive, a SanDisk Cruzer Micro, just 16GB as opposed to 2GB.

This little Cruzer then lay for quite sometime in a parts jar. And, a couple of weeks ago, feeling bored, I decided to fix it.

I know, I should have taken pics during, but it wasn’t that hard. I took a standard male USB connector, soldered it on to the flash drive’s circuitry, filed the inside of the case a tad, connected it to a Female-Male lead, soldered the head to keep it in place, glued the whole assembly into the old case, and snapped it shut again.

Whole thing took 20 minutes, and the finished product looked rather like this;

I know, it looks strange, but it’s actually terribly useful. The Cruzer’s case is rather wide, so often you won’t get two beside each other fitting nicely. This fixes that, and a couple of other problems.

Most of all, it’s unique, separating the 2GB Cruzer I bought in Singapore 5 years ago for €20 (the 16GB cost €27 ;)) from the millions of others out there.

Another cool thing about SanDisk, Linux support :)

2 Responses to “Repairing”

  1. Good job on not letting a good flash drive go to waste!! I think it is even more functional now (I’m also plagued by the “just a bit too wide” cruzer ways).

    • 2 evidex

      Ya, it’s definately more handy, though it’s kinda been replaced by the 16giger :) That said, it is a talking point



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

