My Latest Addition

14Sep10

Well, about a week ago, I passed one of those major milestones in a person’s life, an 18th birthday. Somehow I’ve managed to survive on this planet for 18 years, in spite of the millions of different ways a person could meet their end in the run of a normal day.

And for my 18th birthday, I decided that it was time to get a laptop, simply because I’ve been wanting one for the past two years, but never had a cheap one come my way.

Luckily though, I took a glance in the FreeAds section of a local newspaper, and saw what seemed to be a perfect offer. I set a date, made a deal, and this Toshiba Tecra 9100 was soon mine.

Toshiba Tecra 9100

  • 1.7GHz Pentium IV M
  • 1GB DDR (PC2100)
  • 30GB 4200RPM IBM IDE
  • 1024×768 S3 SuperSavage IX
  • Built in Wifi (On-Off switch broken though)
  • 100Mb/s LAN, 56Kb/s Modem, Infrared Link
  • SD Card Reader

Nothing too powerful or special, but a solid and working machine. A bargain at €120.

It arrived to me with Windows XP (and a dual XP Pro / W2K Pro key sticker :devil: ). I’ve installed Ubuntu 10.04, a standard install, and spent a while setting up Openbox on top.

Everything works pretty much out of the box, except the IR, which I havn’t yet been able to get working outside of XP, and the internal WiFi card, as it’s On/Off switch is broken. That I must fix. It’s got some minor scratching to the top cover, which is strangely made of magnesium alloy, and rather than having a touchpad that so many laptop and netbook owners are used to, this has one of those little Accupoint devices in the middle of the keyboard, and some left/right click buttons. It brings back fond memories of times before trackerpads.

The battery lasts about an hour and a half, but is reluctant to charge whilst the laptop is actually running.  Perhaps that could be changed by lowering it’s power settings.

Anyway, I’ve a few upgrades planned for this laptop, that should make it a bit faster, a bit cooler, and a bit lighter.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

