Bang goes the Arch

10Oct10

Back when it came out first, I was quite interested in Archbang, but, when I found that installing drivers for my USB Wifi adapter would be a nightmare, it fizzled out of focus.

But ever since, the project has still been working away, and, due to some rather scary issues on Tecra with Ubuntu Maverick, I decided to give it a shot.

The install process was the same as any Arch system, and is easily followed. Once installed, and booted, straight away your given a working Openbox environment, with a generous helping of different applications, enough to satisfy most needs. After a little bit of tinkering, using the configs from my Maverick setup, I was left with this.

 

The speed is very good. It boots from Grub to a login in 23secs, from my 8GB CF card. The default install weighs in at about 2GB, and the desktop is snappy.

There are more applications than I really have time to talk about, so I’d encourage you to download the LiveCD, and give it a try :)

3 Responses to “Bang goes the Arch”

  1. 1 Forwardslash

    Glad to see you’re enjoying Arch! Using it has been the best learning experience for me WRT linux.

    BTW, do you play minecraft at all?

    • 2 evidex

      I can’t say I have, but I’ll give it a look. It looks vintage from a graphics point of view, but it seems interesting :)

      And yes, Arch is great. Things happen quite differently in Arch compared to Ubuntu, so it’s nice to find the differences.

      • 3 Forwardslash

        Yeah, I’ve gotten very use to doing things the Arch way now. I find I’m lost if I can’t configure something with a text file P:

        Have you ever thought of using a tiling WM for your laptop? I’m testing out ScrotWM (http://imgur.com/fqVI4.png) at the moment. Nice light WM focused on keyboard control.

        Also note while Minecraft looks vintage, it is CPU intensive. But hella addicting.



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

