The Cry of Wolves

02Nov10

The next step in my distro-hopping experiment hasn’t gone quite as well as I’d planned.

Before I start though, I’d like to declare though, that it mostly my fault.

This week’s distro is one which doesn’t reach the top 100 on Distrowatch, but should. Wolvix is quite a nice distro, and my first time playing with Slackware.

Wolvix is more orientated at the LiveCD end of things, with options for things like persistent save files, and a warning about the dangers of installing to a HDD. That said, installing to a HDD works perfectly.

Wolvix uses XFCE, and looks quite good out of the box. It comes with a massive variety of applications, everything from Firefox to hTop, various media applications, graphics programs, office programs, even things like Bluefish and Kompozer. :roll: That’s down to it’s LiveCD nature I guess, boot up a single disk and be ready for anything ;)

My only gripe with Wolvix, is that RT2500 based USB wireless cards don’t seem to be supported. I’m not sure why, but there’s a link on the FAQ which leads nowhere :roll: I take that to mean that the issue is being worked on :)

Other than that, Wolvix gets my vote. It’s a nice distro, relatively lightweight (boots to 100Mb RAM), and most importantly, it looks good. :twisted:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

