One Skinny Little Spider

05Dec10

Firstly, I must apologise for how sparse posts are becoming here. The real world is proving to be a busy place right now, and I can only see the problem getting worse. But I will endevour to post as often as possible.

Anyway, I’ve yet to open up Tecra to examine the CMOS battery. At the moment things seem to be working fine in Linux distro’s. XP however, locks up and reboots randomly without warning.

I had been using Slitaz alongside XP, and I’ve fallen in love. Even on a 4200RPM IDE harddrive, it boots from GRUB to a desktop (using 39Mb of RAM) in 20.1 seconds. Don’t blink if you’re shutting down, as it takes a mere 9.3 seconds. 8O

So lightweight, so quick, applications open almost instanteously. It’s a sheer, raw speed that I doubt I could find in many other places. At least, not with a full range of applications and full desktop by default.

Wanting to abandon XP, and see just how fast Slitaz could be, I grabbed a Clonezilla disk, and began to migrate my install over to the compact flash card.

However, something went wrong along the way, leaving me with a blank CF card, and an image labelled as corrupt :roll:

Not to worry though. I’ll simply download the iso and install the old flashioned way. :)

 

Just a note to those who havn’t seen it before, PloP boot manager is a fantastic tool, which allows me to boot USB drives on a laptop that doesn’t support USB booting. I almost feel like I’m cheating :twisted:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

