Squeeze Me

17Feb11

A screenshot that’s practically squeezable ;)

In case the terrible word plays were lost on you, that is indeed Debian Squeeze. You see, I have a bit of a prediciment.

System64 has been using the same install of Ubuntu 9.10 for I don’t even know how long. At least 9 months, perhaps even a year. (If anyone can tell me how to find out somehow, do please tell). After such a long time, it’s almost perfect. Things are set up just how I like, with just the right programs and scripts. I’ve become so used to them that I no longer even think, backups and updates just happen as though by magic.

Which is great. But Karmic won’t be supported for much longer, April 2011 to be exact. True enough, I could upgrade to 10.04, and even 10.10, but the current install is somehow filling the ~ 8GB root partition. A clean re-install seems a good idea.

So in looking at options other than Ubuntu, Debian was naturally a first choice.

This 6th release of Debian features a full Gnome desktop and suite of applications, everything you could need to get started. Boot of a clean install weighs in around 200MB, RAM wise. Not heavy by modern standards, but obese by others ;)

Anyway, I’m going to play around with it, and see if I can get things set up how I’d like them. If so, I’ll overwrite Karmic with Squeeze, which may be an emotional moment :roll:

I’ll keep ye updated. :)

2 Responses to “Squeeze Me”

  1. I haven’t used the GNOME version of Squeeze, but I’m using Crunchbang Statler (a Openbox-based reimagining of Squeeze), and I’ve been liking it a lot. The whole install, plus XFCE and OpenOffice.org, takes about 4GB in total. It does take some getting used to, as it is slightly different from Ubuntu, and has a few non-distro-specific packages different here and there, but it’s really fun to use, and super fast. Anyway, that’s just my two cents worth.

    As for having everything set up just the way you want, I’ve found (during times of catastrophe) that sometimes having to start from scratch again helps keep learning new tricks, and even helps you remember some old ones again :P . And you could always dual-boot alongside a newer distro until you got things just the way you wanted them.

    • 2 evidex

      Ya, I’m going to keep it on a side plate for a while, just till I have it how I like.

      I’m actually using #! Statler too, on my laptop, the XFCE version. Ya, it’s wicked stuff alright :)



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

