Those damn Buses

24Mar11

That new RAID card I ordered arrived two days ago ( a VT6421A by the way). I was delighted, and naturally ripped An-Lar apart to replace the one I thought was broken.

However, the ATA bus error still appeared on running an fsck. I was gutted.

Logically though, my next assumption was that the motherboard was to blame. So I spent an hour or so replacing it with a board holding a 1Ghz Celeron. It took so long as the original was held onto the case with the most awkward stands I’ve ever seen, little clip on things, which are not designed to be tampered with by mere mortals :roll:

On booting everything up, fingers crossed, my heart dropped as once again the screen filled with ATA bus errors.

Not the motherboard’s fault then. The operating system was to blame :(

And so began the next song and dance, rip out harddrive, dump it into a surrougate machine, and install Debian Squeeze :) 16Mb of RAM used on boot, how fantastic :)

Everything seemed perfect. I could mount and access the drives. With delight, I began rsyncing the data from the smaller drive, to the larger. A cup of coffee was in order. :)

I returned, to check on it’s progress. Rsync had frozen. The screen was once again littered with ATA bus errors.

I don’t really know what else to do. It’s possible that this is just a bug. My next port of call will be Arch, and I’ll take another trawl through Launchpad, and the Ubuntu Forums. If anyone knows anything, I’d love some help :(

One things for sure though. I’ll never think about buses in the same way again :evil:

2 Responses to “Those damn Buses”

  1. Were you ever able to figure anything out regarding the bus error and the via 6421?

    I’m having a hell of a time – thing works fine in windows but I need this for a server. I am eager to buy a card I know will work but even the sil3124 card that appears to have full driver support seems to have mixed reviews – works for some, not for others. A $100+ controller card is not an option as I don’t need it for RAID argh! I’m pulling my hair out here. Let me know what you ended up doing!

    • 2 evidex

      Nothing so far :( To be honest, I’ve not had the time to try since. I think I may just wait for the next release of Ubuntu, and see if that fares any better. If not, I’ll try FreeNAS, Arch, Debian etc etc again >.< If you find out something in the mean time, don't forget to share it! ;)



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

