Freebies!

29May11

Firstly, let me apologise for the terrible lack of blogs over the past number of weeks. This time of year brings with it a rather heavy workload, in the run up to some of the biggest exams of my life :(

Therefore, posts will be more sporadic than they already are, as I simply neither have time to write, nor to experiment.

Either way, a few weeks ago, an ex-teacher of mine (one of my favourites) sent some old machines my way.

When I use the term “old” I do so loosely. I got five 2.4Ghz Celeron machines, a couple of harddrives ranging from 10 to 41Gb, a stick of RAM or two, and a number of CD and floppy drives.

One of the 5 motherboards has been used to replace the 1.7Ghz Pentium IV board in my server, but that’s a story for another day, as it’s not been very successful.

As for the rest of them, I stripped what I thought would be useful and put the rest in storage for the moment. When I have more time, I’ll take them out and test each motherboard and CPU to see what works and what doesn’t. Floppy and CD-ROM drives have been added to the stack :)

As for the harddrives, I’ve yet to have any success. All have bent pins, two having pins that have been shoved into the casing. Another is labeled “Bust”, and has a chunk of the chasing missing. I am convinced however, that given enough time and a bit of care, that at least two, if not three, of these drives can be coaxed back into life.

Finally, the last thing I received was an 8-port 10/100 D-Link switch.

Like the rest, I’ve yet to test if it actually functions as a switch, but at the very least it powers on, a fact easily discernible from the rather noisy rear fan. Ebay should be able to find a cheap replacement.

Phew. That’s it for now. I’ll do my best to keep posting, but for the next two weeks or so, I can’t make any promises :(

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

