An Indulgance….


This has been carried over from Evidex, so apologies if it seems out of context in places. Read the About Page😛


This will be an indulgant post. Up untill now, I have, for the most part, been able to restrain myself from filling this site with tech blogs. That restrain has ended.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been looking at what was once my server, before being replaced by a much more powerful PC, which now fufils all my file, printer and media sharing needs (and whose uptime is almost 50days >.<).

It an old PC, a Pentium III Katami @ 451Mhz, with 128Mb of PC-100 SDRAM, and a whopping 6Gb, probably 5400rpm harddrive, accompianied by a 2Gb USB flash drive.

I’ve been debating on choice of distros, and whether to attempt to make it into a proxy server to speed up Internet access for my other computers. I’ve decided against the latter, it doesn’t quite have the required RAM. So, for now, its just gonna be another file, and torrent server. But what distro? I’ve tried FreeNAS, which is great, and what is on my main server, but I’ve yet to get torrent downloads working under it. Damn Small Linux is a choice, and I made a custom Live DSL Server Edition disk, but it doesn’t quite fit my needs….I need to work on that a bit more, the share definitions are wrong, and there’s a problem with the run levels that I can’t quite put my finger on. So for now, that shall be in VirtualBox, untill I get it right.

Ubuntu, is of course a choice, and I would love to be able to run my favourite distro on there, I would have no problems configuring it for my needs, but alas, a crap Internet connection and 128Mb RAM isn’t conjuctive to intstalling Ubuntu. I must download a copy after the mid-term when I’m back in school, with their wicked bandwidth🙂

For now, the server will run <gag>Windows 2000 Professional</gag>, with Bittorrent, WAMP, Filezilla and possibly Putty, for SSH. Pray I get that DSL disk working soon🙂

