Indulgance II


Again (or firstly, seeing as these appear in reverse order), this blog is carried over from Evidex. The About Page explains best🙂


Well, I’m glad to say that I’ve finally gotten rid of Windows 2KPro from my spare server. It is now running <epic>Ubuntu Server 9.10 Karmic</epic>. The box, like I said before, only has 128Mb of RAM, and I didn’t expect the disk to even boot, but I gave it a shot nevertheless. I almost crapped myself when it worked, and quickly installed it to the old 6Gb HDD, installing Samba (Windows File Sharing) and SSH (Secure Remote Logins), and later, after I booted into its CLI interface, installed rTorrent, a CLI torrent program, hTop, a system monitor, and Folding@Home.

Folding@Home is a project in which people donate spare CPU cycles to let researchers at Standford University cruch big numbers in little pieces, spread across computers across the world, numbers which help cure things such as Alzheimer’s, ALS, Huntington’s, Parkinson’s disease, and many Cancers. My way of giving back🙂

The box runs 24/7, and at the moment, spends half the day or so running Folding@Home. rTorrent is set up to open and download any torrent file placed in a certain directory, which is shared through Samba to the Vista laptop, and SSH to the Ubuntu computers. That means I can shutdown my main computer, and let Karmic download whatever overnight. My sister can also just drop a torrent into the directory, let it download and grap the files from the server later.

For the sheer fun of it, I decided to install mdadm, a program used for setting up RAID in Ubuntu, and created a linear RAID using two 2Gb flash drives, in a cheap 4 port USB hub. This allows Ubuntu to see these drives as one 4Gb drive. Another advantage of this is the speed of the USB drives (even though their connected through USB1.1) over the speed of the old 6Gb drive. The write/read speeds are alot faster🙂

I’m planning on adding another 9Gb drive to the RAID, which will kill the speed, but boost the space🙂

