Wow, its amazing how much can happen in a day. I decided last night that Jaunty was becoming too slow, my fault of course, I had installed, and uninstall so much software, changed so many configs, and can never remember which ones😦

So, it was time to move on and upgrade to Karmic. I had tried out the 32bit version of Ubuntu 9.10, but was appalled at the boot times, more than a minute and a half. But I figured that it would be worth it to have a clean system again.

But, realising that my computer is infact 64bit capable, I decided to install the x86_64 version. Used the alternate CD, the install went fine, but damn was I wrong. I had expected it to be just the same as the x86 version, but the boot was so much faster, possibly faster than Jaunty O.O Only bootchart will tell😉

After the install, I got the same Grub Error 15 as I did when I installed Xubuntu 9.10. So far, Grub2 ain’t so high on my like list, but we’ll see, I havn’t had to play with it too much. I used SuperGrub2 Disk to boot to Ubuntu and then re-install Grub with

sudo grub-install --root-directory=/ /dev/sdb

After that it worked fine🙂 Then began the somewhat length process of installing all of my programs, themes etc, marred by my terrible Internet connection (~28KB/s :(). Now, a few hours later, I sit typing this, and I’m still being amazed at the speed. Maybe its just the fact that its  a clean install, maybe its the extra bits, I dunno, but its a huge difference🙂 Got a few things left to do, one being to make my themes use the murraine engine instead of clearlooks, but that’s gonna take some Googling🙂 One of the first things I did was grab the latest 64bit Flash Player from Adobe’s site, and thus far, things seem good.

When they said that Apt had Super-Cow powers, they weren’t kidding, I’ve just done a complete re-install and re-configure in one day, the longest bit was letting apt download the 300MB of programs and updates, but it’s all been so blissfully easy, and beautifully simple. Thank God for Apt🙂

Two-Face is gone, replaced by System64😉

